Meet the new interns of CEEDS! Liz, Renée, and Stephanie

25 Sep

Liz Wright

As far as I can remember, I have had a passion for the environment, but it wasn’t until the last few years that I realized how to funnel that passion into a potential career. In the meantime, I am excited to take in what Smith college and western Mass has to offer. I am a second-semester sophomore and I am currently on the ES&P track. So far my favorite class is Horticulture lab with Gaby Immerman. It seems like the most practical knowledge I have experienced so far, as we are learning to identify plants in real-life situations. I am thrilled to recognize by name the flowers, trees and shrubs I have admired for so long.

As an Ada Comstock scholar, I have a little more age and experience, yet this doesn’t always mean that I know more about important issues that face the  world than a traditional age student. What I have realized is that the more I learn, the more I want to learn about what I can do to help slow down the degradation of the environment. I am hoping to come out of my education at Smith with more gardening, sustainability, and real world experience. This internship with CEEDS seems to be a step in the right direction.

Renee Ricci

Hi everyone! My name is Renee Ricci and I’m looking forward to beginning my work with CEEDS!  I come from Bristol, Rhode Island and I love spending time in and around the ocean. I’m a senior at Smith College, completing a major in Geosciences and a minor in Anthropology. During the summer of 2011 I contributed research to the Avery Brook Watershed project- a rewarding experience that inspired me to pursue more green initiatives at Smith. I’m particularly interested in water development in parts of Africa and the Indian Subcontinent.

When I’m not blogging for CEEDS, I can most often be found cooking, hiking, or singing a’cappella with The Vibes.

Stephanie Cervantes (’13)

I’m a senior with a Government and Environmental Studies and Policy double major. In my studies, I have concentrated on sustainable development and environmental policy and hope that in the future I can work with communities to evolve current cities to sustainable cities. I have spent my time at Smith involved in many things green; this is my 3rd year as Sustainable Rep for my house and my 2nd year as a Sustainable Rep Facilitator. I am very excited to be working so closely with CEEDS this year because I want to make Smith as sustainable as possible. I also spent my junior year abroad in Denmark in a sustainable development program, so I want to take many of those skills and knowledge and apply them here.

Leave a Reply

