Meet this summer’s CEEDS Interns

6 Jun

My name is Jen Rioux and I am a rising senior at Smith College majoring in Environmental Science and Policy and minoring in Landscape Studies. I am one of the two CEEDS interns working with Reid Bertone-Johnson at the Ada and Archibald MacLeish Field Station this summer through Smith’s Summer Research Fellows program (SURF). SURF facilitates formal summer research opportunities with Smith College faculty. I am excited to explore the field station and learn more about its history and envision ways it will be used in the future. I am especially interested in the effects of oriental bittersweet, an invasive, non-native vine that is taking over parts of the forest. I hope to create some sort of management plan for keeping the vine from spreading further. I will keep you updated.

And…

I’m Jo Harvey and I just completed my first year here at Smith as an Ada Comstock Scholar after transferring from Southern Maine Community College in Portland. I hope to apply my science background from previous biotechnology studies toward my current major of Environmental Science and Policy. Since my job immediately prior to coming to Smith required sitting at a desk in front of a computer, I’m thrilled that this internship at MacLeish will allow me to be outside for the summer. I expect to learn a lot from this experience, and now that we’re midway through our second week working at the field station, I’m excited to help find ways to increase the use of the property by Smith students, faculty, and staff.

Jen_Jo
Jen and Jo (l. to r.) at MacLeish.

During the first two weeks of our internship we’ve been working on maintenance projects that have allowed us to become more familiar with the property. We have wrapped up many school-year projects, repaired an all-terrain wheelchair as well as the solar panel for an electric fence, done general trail maintenance, begun taking steps to sheet mulch the Fruit Orchard (established with a generous gift from former College President Carol Christ), and we have completed a large portion of a new connector trail from the building to the fire pavilion. Through this work we have come in contact with a variety of invasive species. Check back next week for a post about invasive species at the MacLeish Field Station.

-Jen Rioux (‘15) and Jo Harvey (‘AC)

Leave a Reply

