Summer at MacLeish- the Start of a Chapter on Trailblazing, Permeable Pavement, and Barberry Removal

7 Jul

Hello! My name is Laura Krok-Horton (’17) and I am an Architecture major, Landscape Studies minor. This summer I am part of the Smith Summer Research Fellows (SURF) program, and have funding from CEEDS to work at the Ada and Archibald MacLeish Field Station with Station Manager Reid Bertone-Johnson. I have been working on a research project to design a parking lot at the entrance of the Field Station, which will be a testing site for the permeability of the materials used.

LauraFrom left to right: Laura, Liz and Reid test out the new camera pole on the proposed parking lot site at the Field Station.

My partner in crime, Liz Nagy, and I started the summer off by cleaning up some of the existing trails and rock walls and creating new trails between the elements of the challenge course. I am a newly trained facilitator for the course, and it has been fun “learning the ropes” this summer.

Hi! My name is Liz Nagy (’18) and I’m pursuing a double major in Environmental Science and Policy and East Asian Literatures and Languages. This summer, with support from CEEDS, I’m working at the MacLeish Field Station as a SURF Fellow, conducting research under the guidance of Reid Bertone-Johnson. My project involves the mapping and mitigation of the invasive plant Japanese barberry, which includes the use of GPS, herbicides, manual labor and a propane torch.

LizLiz (l.) and Laura (r.) all suited up and ready to test some of the proposed invasives mitigation strategies.

Leave a Reply

