Meet the Interns, Part 1

11 Oct
Over the next few weeks, we’ll be introducing you to all of our great interns–from MacLeish Field Station, CEEDS, and Campus Sustainability. Tess Abbot ’20 is first.
tess-abbott
My name is Tess Abbot. I’m a first-year from Brooklyn, New York, and live in Wilson House here at Smith. While the city is a large part of my life, I am very much an outdoor person. Ever since I was little I’ve loved working in gardens and surrounding myself with dirt and plants. My interests in the environment, especially environmental protection, stem from visits to my family in New Zealand where much of the native bush and flora has been cleared and turned into farmlands and pastures. Despite this, I’m always inspired by the resilience of nature, particularly of native plants and how they seem to find ways of creeping back into cleared areas. This past summer, my family and I went to the Whakarewarewa Forest, known for its redwood grove and protection of native and commercial trees and shrubs, in Rotorua, New Zealand. It was very humbling to be surrounded by trees hundred of feet tall that towered over you.
I am really looking forward to creating similar experiences while interning as an AEMES scholar at the MacLeish Field Station. I hope to take on active responsibilities at the station, such as maintaining hiking trails or replanting some of the fruit trees that were lost last winter, as well as adding to the station’s collection of research. I am very keen on learning how to use a laser cutter and creating plaques and signs for the station as well as learning how to navigate and add to the MacLeish story mapping project.

One Response to “Meet the Interns, Part 1”

  1. Maya Kutz October 23, 2016 at 5:05 pm #

    Eyyy another sustainability New Yorker! I’m a 2015 alumn working in hydroponics. Let me know if you ever want to meet up and nerd out about plants. Joanne or Paul should know how to reach me 🙂

Leave a Reply

