Meet the Interns, Part 2

24 Oct

sophiaMy name is Sophia Stouse and I am a first-year in Jordan House. I spent the summer traveling in Spain and Portugal and spending time in my hometown, New Orleans, before coming to Smith. I enjoy lots of outdoor activities (backpacking, hiking) and am on the Smith equestrian team. I am a tentative Environmental Science and Policy major and am affiliated with the MacLeish Field Station through the Stride Program.

Being a New Orleans native has contributed a lot to my interest in the environment. Hurricane Katrina, which hit New Orleans in 2005, was a major event in my childhood. Growing up I came to realize that degradation of the Louisiana wetlands was the main reason that Hurricane Katrina was as catastrophic as it was. Human interference with the water system throughout our history backfired and destroyed our best protection from hurricane destruction. I take ecosystem preservation very seriously because I’ve seen and lived through the effects of not doing so. During my junior and senior years of high school, I was a participant in a program called New Orleans Scholars. For my last semester in high school, New Orleans Scholars focused on the environment and how it is connected specifically to our city. We learned not only about the wetlands, but also about efforts for sustainable energy in the city and how we can create a paradigm shift in communities in terms of our interaction and views of the environment.

I am looking forward to learning more about the environment here in Massachusetts through the MacLeish Field Station. Massachusetts is very different from New Orleans in terms of the ecosystems that thrive here, so I’m excited to explore these differences (for example, apparently it gets a lot colder around here). I love being outside, so MacLeish is a great opportunity for me to get off campus and enjoy the outdoors and have a productive impact at the same time.

Leave a Reply

