Meet the Interns, Part 3

15 Nov

naomi

Hello! My name is Naomi Forman-Katz and I hail from Newton, MA (right outside of Boston). I’m a first-year student at Smith and I’m so excited to be working at MacLeish! I was paired with this team through STRIDE due to my interest in the environment, biology, and sustainability. I was first turned on to the idea of environmental justice and environmental education during the summer after my junior year of high school, when I took an internship teaching Boston-area children about local marine biology and environmental stewardship. This past summer, I worked at various summer programs, including a nature exploration camp for little kids. These experiences sparked my interest in environmental work and the MacLeish Field Station seems to be the perfect outlet for that. I’m looking forward to getting involved in all the projects going on at MacLeish, starting by maintaining the four miles of trails that were designed and built by students. I’m also hoping to work on the American Chestnut restoration project, as well as the fruit orchard, and maybe starting a project of my own!

Other than this internship, I am involved in the Smith community by being the Eco-Rep for Wilder House. Right now, we are working on implementing compost buckets in all of the houses on campus. I am also a member of the Smith College Jewish Community, Divest, and J Street U. I’m looking forward to getting even more involved as the semester goes on, especially with all the fantastic work happening at MacLeish.

Leave a comment